Download the 2018 award applications.

Chuck Wood Memorial Award

This award is given to recognize the achievements of a person with a disability who has attained a high level of independence, self-reliance, and self-sufficiency in the community. Someone who has demonstrated achievement of his/her goal of independence in community and personal life.

Bill Donohue Memorial Award

This award is provided to a professional who has demonstrated the most outstanding efforts in placing Iowans with disabilities. The recipient of the Bill Donohue Award will be presented with a plaque and savings bond. There is no requirement of being involved with JPD, IRA or NRA.

IRCEA Counselor of the Year Award

This award is specific to an individual who has given time and commitment beyond the call of duty. The nominee must be a current member of the NRCA/IRA and be verified as working as a rehabilitation counselor.

Gerry Byers Award for Outstanding Service

Gerry Byers spent most of his adult life dedicated to helping persons with disabilities achieve their employment goals, and to the Iowa and national Rehabilitation Association. he spent 30 plus years employed as a placement specialist for the Iowa Vocational Rehabilitation Services in the Council Bluffs area. As a member of NRA/IRA he was tireless in his efforts, particularly in the area of membership. Often the recipient of a free membership in the association (but already a life member) he would donate the free membership to a new person. He rarely missed a state, regional, or training conference and throughout his tenure held several offices. he was a Bill Donohue Award recipient, and the national Margaret Fairbairn Award recipient for his exemplary achievement in job placement.

Judd Jacobson Memorial Award for entrepreneurs with disabilities.

2014 Award Recipients

Chuck Wood Award to Kevin Dalin
IRA Achievement Award to Josh Buman
Gerry Byers Award to David Mitchell
Counselor of the Year to Jessica Schneider
Past President Award to Lindsay Walker
Bill Donohue Award to Kathy Jackson

2013 Award Recipients

IRA Achievement Award to Dede Six
IRCEA Counselor of the Year to Jackie Wipperman
IRA Chuck Wood Award to Alex Watters
Bill Donohue Award to Cindy Kurtz-Hopkins

2012 Award Recipients

Chuck Wood Memorial Award to Harry Olmstead
IRA Achievement Award to Sonia Meade
Gerry Byers Award for Outstanding Service to Jonathan Ice
Bill Donohue Memorial Award to Vienna Hoang

Receive our mailing list

* indicates required
I am...

View previous campaigns.